First impressions on life at (KU) Leuven

Two weeks have already passed at KU Leuven where I am doing my master thesis at the Computer Science department and I want to share with you my experience in Belgium and especially at KU Leuven. I plan to do this weekly from now on, for the next three and a half months, so stay tuned 🙂

It all started on a Monday: I had a talk with my supervisor professor, @ErikDuval and already received a desk in an office. What did I find there? 4 guys with more iDevices than I’ve ever seen in a room 😛
First impressions on life in Leuven:
  • The HCI department @ KU Leuven is a very sociable one, so there’s always an interesting conversation going on 🙂
  • I was asked if there, in Romania, we have TV :/ I most probably changed like 10 colours in a couple of seconds, but now we can make fun of it 😛
  • Biking was supposed to be more fun. So far, I am only counting the muscles I can feel after 6 km 😛
  • Surprisingly, I haven’t minded the weather yet, though it went from sun to gray clouds and then snowing in the same day!
  • You need to be quite strong to open (most of the) doors :/
  • I had the chance to meet a Nobel Peace Prize winner, Leymah Gbowee, an amazing woman, thanks to a symposium organized by KU Leuven.
  • I am joining Spanish conversations and it feels good to speak good enough to be understood and moreover to understand (almost) anything.
  • Went to cinema to watch ‘Django Unchained’ and I couldn’t believe my eyes seeing translations in French & Dutch 😛
More stories & pictures , coming soon 😉
6 responses to “First impressions on life at (KU) Leuven

  1. Till

    > if there, in Romania, we have TV

    So… do you? 🙂

  2. That was the only question about your country? 😛

  3. Loved the post Oana, can’t wait for more highlights since I’m probably also going to choose Leuven for my Master’s 😉

    • Thank you, Łukasz 🙂 Happy to hear that. I am already preparing the next ones! If you’re interested in particular subjects, please drop me a private message so I can investigate them 😉 What Master program are you interested in?

Leave a Reply

