Things I haven’t understood yet at Leuven / Belgium

Image

  • When did it start this whole bike movement. Somebody tell me, I want to import it, at the same level, to Romania πŸ˜€
  • Why everybody getting in the bus has to use the door next to the driver and not the middle one too. I believe that the passengers would win at least 25% of the bus-time if the doors would be used at their full capacity.
  • Β Why Belgians make false expectations and then they almost win the match! Basketball match: The Belgian team vs. The Emigrants team. I hope the Belgians (don’t) want to take their revenge πŸ˜›
  • Why girls are wearing sandals on 4th of March when it was still damn cold outside. And if they are not wearing sandals, then it’s popular to have some very light sport shoes with NO socks… scary!
  • Why shops are open until 6 pm, exactly when people start going home…
  • How come these Belgians can look so good and fit without eating soup on a daily basis. I understand they do a lot of sports, but still..Β 
Aaaand to end in a positive tone, let’s hear the best (geeky) joke from last week:
A: Who’s the religious leader in Germany?
B: We are leaderless. We don’t need proxy anymore to talk to God. : ))
Β 

Β Visited a part of Antwerp on Sunday, coming back with impressions soon!Β 

Β 
8 responses to “Things I haven’t understood yet at Leuven / Belgium

  1. Why do you need soup to stay fit? :)))

    • I believe that eating only dry stuff cannot help on the long term, if you know what I mean πŸ˜› Soup is one of the healthy habit Romanians have and which I would strongly promote πŸ™‚

  2. erikduval

    Not sure if it makes things better or worse, but I am Belgian and I don’t understand Belgians either πŸ˜‰

    • πŸ™‚ I can only smile. I think the whole idea in living in another country is to see how they are doing things. Generally. Then start analyzing some things in your own country, things that you took for granted. Like how people enter a bus πŸ™‚ It’s a fascinating reflective process.

      • Robert

        Nice blog :). There’s a simple explanation for the bus thing, which is to minimize fare evasion. This was introduced some years ago and all the bus drivers are expected to check the passes/tickets/… of all entering passengers. With emphasis on the words EXPECTED TO because in practice (specially on the more crowded buses, I guess you use number 2?) it’s not done very consistently, and I agree that it’s not so efficient :).

      • Thank you, Robert for your reply πŸ™‚ Indeed, I am using no. 2 and though I understand the goal behind, I cannot overlook the wasted time. Plus indeed, as you say, it’s not done very consistently. But hopefully in the future there will be a more efficient solution πŸ˜‰

  3. Oana, congrats for the blog πŸ™‚ and keep on biking for the road trip, then we won’t need the soup πŸ˜‰ Miss uuuuuu :*

    • Thank you, Kata! πŸ™‚ I am biking, no worries, I haven’t forgotten about our bike trip around the world. Together with some friends, we are actually planning to do a one day bike trip (~50 km) in April. Keep you posted! And miss you and your good mood too πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

